Skip to main content

Copied URL to clipboard!

Instagram Tips

Does Instagram notify you when you screenshot a story or post?

If you've ever panicked about screenshotting an Instagram story or post and want to know if the account will be notified, we've got the answer for you in the video below.

Original Video: Youtube

Transcript

Introduction

If you clicked on this video, we're gonna go ahead and guess that you just screenshotted someone's Story or feed post, and you want to know whether or not Instagram is going to notify them. Yep, we've been there.

So whether it was a complete accident or not (no judgment here), today, we're quickly running you through if Instagram notifies someone when you screenshot their Story or a feed post.

Never Miss a Trend AgainJoin over 1 million marketers to get social news, trends, and tips right to your inbox!Email Address

Does Instagram notify you when you screenshot a Story or post?

The quick answer is no. Instagram does not notify the user when you screenshot their Story or post, so no need to panic test this with your friends.

But screenshotting on Instagram can get a little messy depending on the features you're using, like Vanish mode on Instagram DMs.

If you didn't know, Instagram's Vanish Mode is basically like Snapchat's self-erasing messaging feature, where DMs automatically disappear after the recipient has read them. And also like Snapchat, the other person will be notified when you screenshot or screen record a message that they've sent to you while in Vanish mode in your DMs. Yeah, proceed with caution.

How to Save & Share Instagram Stories & Posts

If you're looking for other ways to save or send Instagram Stories, you can also try sharing directly from the Story by clicking on the three dots in the upper right corner of the story, clicking "Share To", and choosing how you'd like to share the content. Just know that the link or message will expire when the story expires. 

And if you're looking to save an Instagram feed post, we recommend using the Collections feature, which lets you save and organize posts into separate categories so that you can come back to them later.

In general, we recommend being mindful of what you're screenshotting or sharing from Instagram. Some things are better left out of the group chat. If this video helped or saved you from going into panic mode, then give this video a like and be sure to subscribe for more social media tips and tricks. See you later.

Never Miss a Trend AgainJoin over 1 million marketers to get social news, trends, and tips right to your inbox!Email Address
Share

Related Resources

  • 5 Ways to Identify Fake Instagram Accounts (+ How to Block Them) thumbnail
  • https://later.com/blog/instagram-rumors/ thumbnail
  • Blog Thumbnail

Plan, schedule, and automatically publish your social media posts with Later.