← Go back to product trainingGUIDE

Plan an Aesthetic Instagram Grid With Later

Learn how to organize, schedule, and optimize a stunning Instagram grid.

Getting Started With Collaboration

Social media management is rarely something you do alone. Even if you are a one person team, it’s likely that you collaborate with other people to achieve social success. Later has tools built-in to make collaboration with teammates and clients a breeze.

With this guide, learn how to work with others to save time when you are planning posts, sharing a content calendar, and analyzing analytics.

Need to invite users to your Later account first? Check out this tutorial.


Planning Posts With Collaborators

Collaborating on posts can lead to some amazing work. When you work with others it provides a fresh perspective and additional expertise. If you already work with a team, you know how important it is to pass on all the important information so nothing gets lost in the process.

Here are Later's top four tips for planning posts with collaborators.

Media Notes

Capture all the essential information for a media item within its’ Media Notes. You can attach a Media Note to any media item at any time.

This is a great place to store information your teammates or clients may need if they end up using the content, like context or image credit.

Learn more about Media Notes here.

Labels

Labels are another handy organization tool that make collaboration easier. Labels are searchable, and when you set up labelling standards your teammates and clients will be able to quickly search and find the right media items.

Teams often use labels to note which media items are or are not approved.To create approval labels:

  1. In the Media Library, select all the media items that are not approved by clicking the checkmarks
  2. Click Label
  3. In the Add New Label text box, add the text “For Review”
  4. Click the plus sign
  5. Select Apply Labels

Follow the same steps to label the approved media items.

With this workflow, whoever approves content can search “For Review” and know exactly what to look through. On the flip side, whoever schedules can search “Approved” to have clarity on what is ready to post.

Calendar Notes

Leave comments, suggestions, and placeholders for your teammates with Calendar Notes. Calendar Notes appear on the Calendar page at a specific time and day.

Calendar Notes are an effective way to visually hold a place for an upcoming post. When your teammate or client views the note, they’ll know to take this placeholder into account with the overall content calendar.

Calendar Notes can also provide reminders and handoff information. Need to show someone when your audience is most likely to be online, or when not to schedule? Pop in a Calendar Note, they’re visible to all users.

To add a Calendar Note, press control and click, or left click on the Calendar.

Note:  Calendar Notes are only available on some Later plans. Learn more about plans here

Contributors

Contributors is a content collection tool offered by Later. Collaborators without a Later account or user privileges can send you images and videos by email or the web app.

With Contributors, your creators can focus on the content while you and your team optimize posts for engagement and followers.

To get started from Later on the web, navigate to the Collect Media tab and select Review, then Contributors. There will be instructions here on how to set up your unique collection email.

Once the submission email is set up, invite contributors to submit media items by adding their email addresses. They’ll have access to the Contributors feature by either email or the web app.

Note:  media items submitted through the web app can include Media Notes, those submitted through email cannot.

Any media items submitted by contributors will be available to add or discard before they’re included in the Media Library. When a media item is added, a “contribution” label is automatically applied, making it easy to search for anything from your contributors.

Check out this guide to learn more about Contributors.


Reviewing the Content Calendar

When you work with others, it's important to show the upcoming posts and content that are scheduled to publish. Your clients and colleagues can approve the plan and know what to expect in the next week or month.

Later has tools to help you collaborate with anyone, whether they’re users or not. Our top two suggestions: sharing an Instagram calendar, and reviewing within the Later app with Access Groups.

Share Your Instagram Calendar

When you need to share your planned posts with someone who doesn’t have a Later account, try the Calendar preview.

The Calendar preview is a shareable URL that contains an overview of upcoming Instagram posts in Later. To keep all your content secure, the link automatically expires 48 hours after it is generated.

To access your Calendar preview from the Calendar page:

  1. Ensure only your Instagram account is toggled on from the Social Sets
  2. Click Preview  and Share Calendar
  3. Select Copy Link  button to automatically copy the URL
  4. Click Done

Once the URL is copied to your clipboard, send it to anyone by pasting it into a Slack message, email, or any other communication tool.

Note:  the Calendar preview only shows scheduled Instagram posts, and is only available on some plans. Check out the pricing page here to learn more.

Invite Users to the Access Group

Want to share other scheduled content, like Facebook posts or Linkin.bio? Add new users to an Access Group and they’ll have access to all of Later’s scheduling and content management tools. Users cannot manage social profiles, users, or billing, so your account will always remain secure.

When the content calendar is ready for review, let your other users know. All they’ll need to do is login and head to the Calendar page. If you’re looking for reviews on Linkin.bio, direct them to click in from the sidebar.

To learn more about Access Groups, check out this guide.


Sharing Analytics

Keeping collaborators looped into outcomes is just as crucial as collaborating in the planning stages. It’s likely that your colleagues and clients are just as invested in post and content performance as you. Here are two quick ways to share analytics with collaborators.

Export Analytics Reports

When you want to send analytics reports to people who are not users, you have the option to export a CSV. The CSV will download to your device and include all the same information as is visually displayed with the analytics dashboard on the Later app.

The categories you can export with CSV include:

  • Profile Growth & Discovery
  • Profile Interactions
  • Audience Engagement
  • Audience Demographics
  • Audience Location and Language
  • Detailed Post Performance
  • Detailed Story Performance
  • Your Detailed Hashtag Performance

To download a CSV of your analytics, just click the Export CSV button next to the category on the analytics page.

Review Analytics Within Later

Users can review the analytics reports of any Access Group they join. Later automatically creates visual displays of your analytics that include the previous 90 days.


Next Steps

You can collaborate with users and non-users with Later. For approvals, share high-level content reviews and analytics exports with anyone who doesn’t have access to your Later account. For more hands-on collaboration, invite new users to an Access Group to plan, publish, and analyze outcomes together.

The best way to supercharge collaboration is working directly with users in Later. Check out these guides on Social Sets and Access Groups to learn more.

An Introduction to Social Sets

Effectively manage all your profiles by adding, organizing, and scheduling with Social Sets by Later.

Read More >

How to Efficiently Manage Multiple Brands With Access Groups

Learn how to use Access Groups to save time and protect your business’ content.

Read More >