Copied URL to clipboard!

Instagram Tips & Resources

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot a Story, Post, or DM?


Updated on March 22, 2023
3 minute read

Screenshotting content unlocked 🔓

Published March 22, 2023
Share

Wondering if Instagram sends a notification when you screenshot someone's story, post, or DM? 👀 

We can relate.

So, we're sharing everything you need to know about screenshot notifications on Instagram — plus alternative ways to save content. 

If video is more your speed, watch our YouTube video below. Otherwise, keep reading.

Never Miss a Trend AgainJoin over 1 million marketers to get social news, trends, and tips right to your inbox!Email Address

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot a Story?

The short answer? No.

Once upon a time, Instagram did notify users about story screenshots. However, the platform has since changed its tune, so you’re free to screenshot without the fear of being exposed. 

That said, if you’d like to avoid a specific user from seeing (and potentially screenshotting) your Instagram Stories, we suggest hiding them.

Here’s how:

Head to your Settings and tap “Privacy.” From there, tap “Hide story from,” and then add the account:

Ready to level-up your Instagram Story strategy? With Later’s Instagram Stories scheduler, you can prep a whole week’s worth of Stories in one go — create an account today:

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot a Post?

Much like Stories, Instagram does not notify when someone screenshots a post — likely because there are easier ways to capture feed content.

Enter Instagram’s Saves and Collections features.

With Instagram saves, users can collect and save a post for later, simply by tapping the “bookmark” icon in the bottom right corner of an Instagram post:

The Collections feature takes saving Instagram content one step further. With it, you can organize posts into separate categories — no screenshots required:

P.S. Instagram's new Collaborative Collections feature lets you save posts to a private collection that you share with your friends. Learn more here: Instagram Tests New Collaborative Collections Feature

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot a DM?

Generally speaking, Instagram doesn’t notify when screenshotting a DM — unless you’re using Vanishing Mode. 

Vanishing Mode is a feature that makes your messages disappear after the recipient has read them (or after a certain amount of time). 

It’s a great tool for privacy protection, as users will be notified if someone takes a screenshot of their message, photo, or video:

To access Vanishing Mode, simply head to a DM chat, and swipe up: 

NOTE: Vanishing Mode will not delete messages sent before this feature’s been activated.

And there you have it, Instagram’s screenshot notifications in a nutshell. 

Remember to be respectful of others’ privacy, and mindful about what you’re sharing on the platform — especially with features like Vanishing Mode, as it notifies when a screenshot’s been taken. 

Instead, use alternative features to save content like Collections or the Save bookmark tab.

FYI: Later's social media management platform is trusted by over 4M brands, creators, and social media managers. Sign up today and start scheduling your Instagram content in advance. It's the ultimate timesaver. 🙌

Never Miss a Trend AgainJoin over 1 million marketers to get social news, trends, and tips right to your inbox!Email Address
Share

Plan, schedule, and automatically publish your social media posts with Later.

RELATED ARTICLES

4 min read

How to Hide Instagram Stories from Other People (and Mute Theirs)

By Benjamin Chacon

8 min read

Instagram Saves Are The Hot New Engagement Metric — Here’s Why

By Nikki Canning

2 min read

What Is Instagram's Collaborative Collections Feature?

By Jasmine Roberts